L C Tyler

"It's hard to pull off sustained wry humour without it feeling tiresome and repetitious but he does it." Dovegrey reader on A Very Persistent Illusion

line decor
   || HOME ||L C TYLER || EVENTS || RESOURCES || CONTACT || 
line decor
 
 
 
 

 
 

 

A Very Persistent Illusion

Reviews

 

2009

PEACHYBOOKS (July 2009)

The mystery is appealing, and it's full of dark humour and even some laugh out loud moments. The Sorenson-Birtwhistle scale of girl rage for example, which is Chris and his mate's numerical scale to grade the intensity of rage in a woman, in minute increments....... I really enjoyed it. Read whole review

FLEUR FISHER (June 2009)

"........trust me, it is the execution that makes this book sing. Wonderful, fully-formed and multi-layered characters who will stay with you; a plot that at first seems simple seems simple, but that you soon realise is so clever, and that will make you laugh and cry; and just the right style of writing to hold everything together.

Definitely an author to watch!" Read whole review

 

HORSHAM TODAY (April 2009)

"L.C. Tyler's wit and writing style make this a great tale.
I suppose there's always the chance you might disagree with my glowing comments - but I'm pretty confident you won't. Anyway, read it and make up your own mind."
Steve Payne. Read whole review

YOUR CHOICE MAGAZINE (March 2009)

"Tyler excels in displaying thought-provoking issues through his authentic & spirited characters, making this a sensational read."

GUARDIAN BOOKSHOP (March 2009)

"...wry, very British humour that will appeal to fans of Jasper Fforde and Malcolm Pryce".

DOVEGREYREADER SCRIBBLES (March 2009)

A Very Persistent Illusion made me laugh, and smile and nod and smile a lot more by the time I'd finished yet it also left me in no doubt that Chris Sorenson, and people I might meet like him in real life, often have a serious reason for their facade of joviality and humour. So it probably takes even more skill to contain sadness and tragedy within the confines of a book as funny as this and keep the thing afloat but L.C.Tyler managed it for me. Read whole review

IT'S A CRIME! (OR A MYSTERY...) ( March 2009)

"A Very Persistent Illusion is not crime fiction per se, but it does contain a mystery, much humour and is full of suspense.  As with the author's début novel The Herring Seller's Apprentice, this standalone combines a unique prose style and ability to tell a story that is a mixture of humour, quirkiness, inventiveness and the erudite, all glued together by cleverness".

Read more here

THE BOOK BAG (March 2009)

"Thought-provoking, blackly humorous and with characters who stay with you long after you finish the book, this is highly recommended."

Read whole review

THE PRESS ASSOCIATION (March 2009)

" this is a warm, intelligent and beautifully observed diversion."

ALISON JOSEPH, author of the Sister Agnes mysteries. (March 2009)

"Compelling and clever, I really couldn’t put it down. A deceptively light read. I laughed out loud"

 

 

 

 
 
 
 






 Goldsboro Books  for signed copies

Site Meter     www.lctyler.com     05/03/10